2015 APWU Scholarship Winners

September 1, 2015

Share this article

(This article first appeared in the September-October 2015 issue of The American Postal Worker magazine.)

The APWU proudly presents the winners of three scholarship programs: the E.C. Hallbeck Memorial Scholarship, Vocational Scholarship, and Best Essay Award for 2015.

Hallbeck winners will receive a $2,000 award each year for a period of four years to be used in an undergraduate program. The Vocational Scholarship winners will receive up to $3,000 to be used for three years of study in a trade, technical, industrial or vocational school. The Best Essay winner will receive a one-time award of $2,000.

Winners are selected from applicants who are the children or grandchildren of current, retired or deceased APWU members.

The scholarships are funded by donations, and the APWU is extremely grateful for contributions by union members. To make a contribution, please send a check or money order to: APWU Scholarship Fund, 1300 L Street NW, Washington DC 20005. Your tax-deductible donation may specify “Hallbeck,” “Vocational” or “Best Essay.”

Hallbeck Winners

Michael Bent, son of Min Bent, of the Montgomery County Area Local Nicole Bevis, daughter of William D. Bevis, of the Gadsden Area Local

Stephen J. Kim, son of So Young Kim, of the Long Island Area Local

Andrew W. Lee, son of HanK. Lee, of the Las Vegas Area Local

Shami-lyabo K. Mitchell, daughter of Tanya D. Lawson, of the Cleveland Area Local

Amanda Sauciunac, daugher of Sheri Sauciunac, of the Buffalo Local

James Walker, son of Lisa Walker, of the Saint Louis Gateway District Area Local Delaina D. Williams, daughter of Cheryl Williams, of the Greater Los Angeles Area Local

Tyler J. Wu, son of Mike H. Wu, of the Dallas Area Local

Luana C. Xu, daughter of Jianmin Xu, of the Mount Vernon Local

Best Essay Winner

Julia Jaffe, daughter of Lawrence Jaffe of the Broward County Area Local

Vocational Winners

Jahrizma T. Gumbs, daughter of Margarita Cantois, of the Virgin Islands Area Local

Scott J. Hayes, son of Carolyn C. Carrillo, of the Santa Fe Local

Catherine Lankford, daughter of Christopher Lankford, of the Rome Local

Adam Stazak, son of Michelle M. Vaughn, of the APWU of Wisconsin

Stay in touch with your union

Subscribe to receive important information from your union.