2018 APWU Scholarship Winners

October 9, 2018

Share this article

The APWU proudly presents the winners of three scholarship programs: The E.C.Hallbeck Memorial Scholarship, Vocational Scholarship, and Best Essay Award for 2018. 

Hallbeck Winners

Cambridge Jones, daughter of Renee Littles, of the Montgomery County Area Local

Theodore Ziolkowski, son of Janice Ziolkowski, of the Baltimore Francis ‘Stu’ Filbey Area Local

Lauren Zhou, daughter of Jin Zou, of the Saint Louis Gateway District Area Local

Wesley Patrick, grandson of Deanna Patrick, of the Wyoming Postal Workers Union

Cameron McIntosh, grandson of Sharon McIntosh, of the South Alabama Area Local

Amber Gustason, daughter of Christina Gustason, of the Denver Metro Area Local

Adonai Yishak, son of Tsegereda Debessay, of the Minneapolis Area Local

Jaylynn Foreman, daughter of Tamilia Washington, of the Amarillo Local

Kayla McCargo, daughter of Bennie McCargo, of the North Jersey Area Local

Nah’Sir Morgan, son of Diona Morgan, of the New Jersey Postal Workers Union

Best Essay Winner

Jacqueline Jaffe, daughter of Lawrence Jaffe, of the Broward County Area Local

Vocational Winners

Brianna Diggs, daughter of Dawone Diggs, of the Winston-Salem Local

Dallen Schwab, son of Danielle Schwab, of the California Postal Workers Union

Kollin Vaughn, son of Michelle Vaughn, of the Wausau Area Local

Hallbeck winners will recieve a $2,000 award each year for a period of four years to be used in an undergraduate program. The Vocational Scholarship winners will recieve up to $3,000 to be used for three years of study in a trade, technical, industrial or vocational school. The Best Essay winner will recieve a one-time award of $2,000. Winners are selected from applicants who are the children or grandchildren of current, retired, or deceased APWU members. 

The scholarships are funded by donations, and the APWU is extrememly grateful for contributions by union members. To make a contribution, please send a check or a money order to: APWU Scholarship Fund, 1300 L Street NW, Washington DC 20005. Your tax-deductible donation may specify "Hallbeck," "Vocational," or "Best Essay." 

Click here to see this year's winners. 

For more information on the APWU Scholarship Program, click here. 

Stay in touch with your union

Subscribe to receive important information from your union.