2019 Scholarship Winners

September 12, 2019

Share this article

(This article first appeared in the September/October 2019 issue of the American Postal Worker magazine) 

The APWU proudly presents the winners of three scholarship programs: the E.C. Hallbeck Memorial Scholarship, the Vocational Scholarship and the Best Essay Award for 2019.

Hallbeck winners will receive a $2,000 award each year for a period of four years to be used in an undergraduate program. The Vocational Scholarship winners will receive up to $3,000 ($1,000 each year) for three years of study in a trade, technical, industrial or vocational school. The Best Essay winner will receive a one-time award of $2,000.

Winners are selected from applicants who are the children or grandchildren of current, retired or deceased APWU members.

The scholarships are funded by donations, and the APWU is extremely grateful for contributions by union members. To make a contribution, please send a check or money
order to: APWU Scholarship Fund, 1300 L Street NW, Washington DC 20005. Your tax-deductible donation may specify “Hallbeck,” “Vocational” or “Best Essay.”

Hallbeck Winners

Stephen Santoro, son of Joann Santoro, of the Long Island Area Local

Vivian Phan, daughter of Diep Tran, of the Fort Worth Area Local

Hannah Schorr, daughter of Leonard Schorr, of the Clarksburg WV Area Local

Shane Shananaquet, son of Stella Shananaquet, of the Jackson Area Local (MI)

Alan Nguyen, son of Danh Nguyen, of the California Area Local

Edward Chanhee Lee, son of Edward Sangcheol Lee, of The Northern Virginia Area Local

Nicole Setow, daughter of Kim Chu, of the Boston Metro Area Local

Faith George, daughter of Christina George, of the Evanston Local (IL)

Alexandra Colón, daughter of Ricardo Colón, of the Albuquerque Local

Adrian Wong, son of Hing Wong, of the Dallas Area Local

Vocational Winners

Jessica Zaborowski, daughter of Christine Zaborowski, of the Philadelphia BMC Local

Joselyn Clark, daughter of Tawny Morris, of the Iowa Postal Workers Union

Best Essay Winner

Amy Chitkoksoong, daughter of Suthep Chitkoksoong, of the Aurora Local (CO)

Stay in touch with your union

Subscribe to receive important information from your union.