And the Winners Are...

January 19, 2007

Share this article

Drum roll, please! APWU President William Burrus has announced the winners of the union’s Ratification Voter Participation Contest. The challenge, intended to encourage union members to get involved in the ratification process, offered rewards to locals that were most successful in mobilizing APWU members to vote.

Twenty locals in the category of 1-99 members had 100 percent participation, earning each local $200, to be used on behalf of the members. They are the Atchison (KS) Local, Lewistown (MT) Local, Orange (VA) Local, Haleyville (AL) Local, Laurens (SC) Local, Lewisburg (TN) Local, West Frankfort (IL) Local, Donora (PA) Local, Sturgeon Bay (WI) Local, Marengo (IL) Local, Marshall (MN) Local, Bellows Falls (VT) Local, Springhill (LA) Local, Wayne (NE) Local, Saint Ignace (MI) Local, Port Washington (WI) Local, Kewanee (IL) Local, Alpena (MI) Local, Adairsville (GA) Local, and the Tallmadge (OH) Local.

Three locals with membership of 100-499 people qualified for $1,000 rewards. The Scranton (PA) Local, Mansfield (OH) Area Local, and Reading (PA) Area Local each achieved participation of more than 70 percent.

In the 500-999 member category, the highest voting locals were the Lehigh Valley (PA) Area Local, the Madison Wisconsin Area Local, and the Buffalo (NY) Local, with participation of more than 60 percent. The locals will receive $2,000 each.

The top three locals with more than 1,000 members were the Greater Kansas City Metropolitan Area Local, the Pittsburgh Metro Area Local, and the Saint Paul (MN) Area Local, with more than 50 percent of APWU members voting. Each of the locals qualified for rewards of $4,000.

The contest provided that the top three locals in several categories would be rewarded, with the categories based on the size of the local. The program stipulated that any local that achieved 100 percent would be rewarded, and to be eligible, locals must have reached voting levels of at least 50 percent. 

Results were provided by the American Arbitration Association, which conducted the balloting under the supervision of the Rank-and-File Bargaining Advisory Committee. 

For more news about the 2006-2010 contract, click here.

Stay in touch with your union

Subscribe to receive important information from your union.