APWU Members and Officers Participate in CLUW Convention

September 26, 2017

Share this article

The Coalition of Labor Union Women (CLUW) had their 19th Biennial Convention in Detroit, Michigan from Sept. 6-9. Over 400 union delegates from across the country attended, representing 27 national unions. CLUW is a national women’s organization within the labor movement. Its goals are to empower women in the workplace, advance women in their unions and promote policies that support women and working families.

The theme of the convention was “Taking It to the Streets.” On opening day, a lively rally was held, as CLUW delegates stood in solidarity with Restaurant Opportunities Centers United to fight for a $15 an hour minimum wage.

APWU President Mark Dimondstein was a keynote speaker, introduced by Secretary-Treasurer Elizabeth "Liz" Powell, and addressed the delegates at both the opening session and the rally. He thanked CLUW for their support in the Stop Staples Campaign, and asked them to stand with APWU for “expanded postal services, such as financial services and postal banking.” He also praised CLUW for their activism and resolve, and for their convention resolutions, which included CLUW's national membership in A Grand Alliance to Save Our Public Postal Service, among many others that support the fight to build a better life for all workers.

There were forty resolutions introduced at the convention, highlights included: 

  • Vote By Mail,
  • Establish Postal Banking - financial services including paycheck cashing and electronic fund transfers in post offices,
  • Demand for constitutional equality for women,
  • Stop voter suppression,
  • Oppose “Right To Work,”
  • Expose and combat all forms of racism and extremism against people regardless of race, age, gender, religion, disability or sexual orientation.

At the convention, Elise Bryant (member of CWA/TNG Local 32035, I.W.W. and AFM Local 1000) was elected to be the new CLUW President. CLUW’s officers also include APWU Legislative & Political Director Judy Beard, re-elected as CLUW Treasurer, and National Business Agent Rachel Walthall, elected as one of eighteen National Vice Presidents.

For more information visit cluw.org.

Back Row (L-R): Marjorie Brotherton, Roanoke Local Retiree*; Shirley Taylor, National Business Agent; Rachel Walthall, APWU Washington, DC Region Clerk Division NBA; Lopinia Roe, Detroit District Area Local Sergeant-At-Arms; Yvonne Huntley, Nation's Capital Southern Md Area Local Retiree Chapter; Jane Duggan, Michigan Postal Workers Union Retiree Secretary-Treasurer; Tamika Johnson-Smith, Detroit District Area Local Secretary-Treasurer*; Nancy Olumekor, National APWU Retirees Director; Deborah Battle, Portland Oregon Area Local Secretary-Treasurer; Teresa Oller, Portland Oregon Area Local*; Pamela Richardson, APWU Washington, DC Region Clerk Division NBA; Rosa Faye Marshall, San Francisco Local.

Second Row (L-R): Robin Robertson, Saint Louis Gateway District Area Local Secretary-Treasurer; Sherry McKnight, Baltimore Francis Stu Filbey Area Local President*; Sharyn Stone, National APWU Central Region Coordinator;  Debby Szeredy, National APWU Executive Vice President; Joyce Robinson, National APWU Research and Education Director; Verna Matthews, Portland Oregon Area Local; Karen Wing, San Francisco Local Retiree*; Dawn Stewart, Reno Local Executive Vice President; Lynn Pallas-Barber, National APWU Clerk Division Assistant Director; Wendy Scales, Saint Louis Gateway District Area Local.

Front Row (L-R): Judy Beard, National APWU Legislative and Political Director; Justine Cool, Billings Local Executive Vice President*; Mark Dimondstein, National APWU President; Denisha Dean, Long Beach Area Local President *; Elizabeth Powell, National APWU Secretary-Treasurer.

*Delegates and their alternates elected to CLUW’s National Executive Board, representing APWU for a four-year term at CLUW conventions which take place biennially.

Stay in touch with your union

Subscribe to receive important information from your union.