Officers Installed Under the Theme "Continuing to Move Forward"

November 10, 2016

Share this article

Newly elected APWU officers take their oath of office, administered by the Honorable Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton. The new term started Nov. 12, 2016 and will end in November 2019.

President Dimondstein addresses the audience,
summarizing the accomplishments in the last three years
and the challenges of the future.

The American Postal Workers Union’s elected officers were installed Nov. 5, 2016 in Washington, DC. President Mark Dimondstein, Vice President

Vice President Debby Szeredy introduces
President Dimondstein's second inaugural speech.

Debby Szeredy, and Secretary-Treasurer Liz Powell took their oath of office along with almost 80 elected officers. Members of the Executive Board, Craft Division Directors, Craft Division Assistant Directors, and Department Heads, as well as National Business Agents (NBAs) all raised their hand and pledged to “uphold the Constitution and Bylaws of the [APWU]” and “perform the duties of [their] office to the best of [their] ability.”

“We face the daunting challenges of protecting our jobs, retirements, and the public Postal Service,” said President Dimondstein during his second inaugural speech. “We are on the march in solidarity with others. So let us continue to rise and build A Grand Alliance to Save our Public Postal Service, and beat back the privatizers. Let us continue to rise and Stop Staples and other subcontracting schemes. Let us continue to rise, and defeat the divisive multi-tier wage system and reverse the race to the bottom.”

Secretary-Treasurer Liz Powell served as the evening's
Mistress of Ceremonies. She was escorted by her son, Greg Harris.

Click here for more pictures from the Installation. 

Click here to watch President Dimondstein's inaugural speech


Stay in touch with your union

Subscribe to receive important information from your union.