Postal Unions Ask President To Designate July 26 ‘Postal Heritage Day’

June 9, 2015

Share this article

The four postal unions have asked the White House to issue a Presidential Proclamation designating July 26, the agency’s 240th birthday, “Postal Heritage Day.”

The Postal Service was established on July 26, 1775, when an act of the Second Continental Congress created the United States Post Office Department, and named Benjamin Franklin as the first Postmaster General.

“The USPS is the governmental agency which most interacts with the American people. Postal employees have repeatedly been recognized as the government employees most trusted by the citizens of our great country,” a June 5 letter to President Barack Obama says.

The request was written “on behalf of the nearly 500,000 postal employees who live and work in communities all across America” and was signed by the presidents of the four postal unions: National Association of Letter Carriers (NALC), National Postal Mail Handlers Union, National Rural Letter Carriers’ Association and the American Postal Workers Union.

“Their contributions to every community go well beyond providing the highest quality service, and in some cases, seven days a week. Postal employees keep a watchful eye on those that they serve and regularly assist those in duress,” it said.

Delegates to the APWU and NALC 2014 National Conventions adopted resolutions seeking recognition of Postal Heritage Day.

Stay in touch with your union

Subscribe to receive important information from your union.