President Biden Names Two Nominees to Board of Governors

November 19, 2021

Share this article

Today, President Joe Biden announced two new nominees to the Postal Service Board of Governors to replace outgoing governors. The President nominated Dan Tangherlini, who served as Administrator of the General Services Administration in the Obama Administration and has worked in various roles in the District of Columbia government. He also nominated Derek Kan, who worked in the Trump Administration’s Office of Management and Budget and the Department of Transportation. 

Their appointments are to fill the spots on the Board being vacated by Governors Ron Bloom and John Barger. Bloom’s term expired last year; he was finishing a holdover year which ends on December 8. Barger’s term expires the same day, but he will stay on the Board until a replacement is confirmed by the Senate. 

The APWU looks forward to meeting with the nominees, sharing our views on matters affecting postal workers and learning where they stand on the future of the public United States Postal Service. 


Stay in touch with your union

Subscribe to receive important information from your union.