Rank and File Bargaining Advisory Committee Appointed

March 2, 2021

Share this article

With national contract negotiations set to begin in June, President Mark Dimondstein has announced the names of union members who will serve on the Rank and File Bargaining Advisory Committee. In accordance with the APWU Constitution, each member of the National Executive Board appoints one person to the committee; a 14th member, appointed by the president, is a member of the Deaf/Hard of Hearing Task Force.

The APWU National Negotiations Committee (NNC) has full authority to negotiate the terms of a new collective bargaining agreement. The Rank and File Bargaining Advisory Committee provides input to the NNC. The Rank and File Committee must also approve any tentative agreement before it can be sent to APWU members for a ratification vote.

Contract negotiations are set to tentatively begin mid-June. The current Collective Bargaining Agreement expires on Sept 20, 2021.
The appointees are:

Peggy Whitney – Business Agent, Minneapolis Area Local
(appointed by Mark Dimondstein, President)
Sandra Muñoz  - Vice President, Broward County Area Local
(appointed by Debby Szeredy, Executive Vice President)
Juan Carlos Gonzalez - President, Puerto Rico Area Local
(appointed by Elizabeth Powell, Secretary-Treasurer)
James Sizemore - President, Greater Cincinnati OH Area Local
(appointed by Vance Zimmerman, Industrial Relations Director)
Sherry McKnight - President, Baltimore Francis Stu Filbey Area Local
(appointed by Lamont Brooks, Clerk Division Director)
Yared Wonde - President, Dallas Area Local
(appointed by Idowu Balogun, Maintenance Division Director)

Javier Piñeres – MVS Member, San Jose Area Local
(appointed by Michael Foster, Motor Vehicle Service Division Director)
Arrion Brown - Legislative Director, Nation's Capital Southern Maryland Area Local
(appointed by Steve Brooks, Support Services Division Director)
Gregory Jones - President, Indianapolis Area Local
(appointed by Sharyn Stone, Central Region Coordinator)
Nicole Burnett - President, Central New York Area Local
(appointed by A.J. Jones, Eastern Region Coordinator)
Scott Hoffman - President, Boston Metro Area Local
(appointed by Tiffany Foster, Northeast Region Coordinator)
Stacey Sabir-Brown - President, Atlanta Metro Area Local
(appointed by Kennith Beasley, Southern Region Coordinator)

Joseph Cuccinotto - President, Phoenix Metro Area Local
(appointed by Omar Gonzalez, Western Region Coordinator)
Christopher Anaya - Deaf/Hard of Hearing Task Force Representative, Western Region,  Fresno Area Local 
(appointed by Mark Dimondstein, President)
The Rank and File Bargaining Advisory Committee will first convene on March 8, 2021.  


Stay in touch with your union

Subscribe to receive important information from your union.