Search for Articles

E.g., 06/17/2021
E.g., 06/17/2021

House Committee on Oversight and Reform Introduces Bipartisan Postal Service Reform Act

On May 11th, Chairwoman Carolyn Maloney (D-NY) and Ranking Member James Comer (R-KY) of the House Committee on Oversight and Reform introduced the bipartisan "Postal Service Reform Act." The new bill is scheduled to be marked up on Thursday, May...

Industrial Relations Director Zimmerman Writes to Acting OPM Director for Clarification on EFEL Guidelines

On May 7, Industrial Relations Director Vance Zimmerman wrote a letter to Kathleen McGettigan, Acting Director of the Office of Personnel Management (OPM), requesting guidance on the interpretation of certain guidelines for Emergency Federal...

Stay Informed About Your Union

Latest COVID MOUs and Liberal Leave Policy Extensions

President Dimondstein signed extensions on the COVID MOUs today through June 4, 2021

American Rescue Plan Act: Update on Emergency Federal Employee Leave (EFEL)

Multiple questions have been submitted regarding the recently passed stimulus bill known as the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 (ARPA). Under section Title IV Section 4001 of the bill, funding for Emergency Federal Employee Leave (EFEL) was...

Biden signs $1.9 Trillion COVID-19 Relief Bill Into Law

On Thursday March 11, President Joe Biden signed the American Rescue Plan Act of 2021 into law, providing desperately needed relief to America’s working class and stabilizing communities across the country.

Imperfect Storm

(This article first appeared in the March/April 2021 issue of the American Postal Worker magazine) The mail system is in chaos. Postal workers are tired and frustrated. Customers are angry. Despite the courageous efforts, hard work and dedication of...

Rank and File Bargaining Advisory Committee Appointed

With national contract negotiations set to begin in June, President Mark Dimondstein has announced the names of union members who will serve on the Rank and File Bargaining Advisory Committee. In accordance with the APWU Constitution, each member of...